Do What You Can: Corolla Camper

***Okay, so this is about creative alternatives to a camper van, just bear with me.***  

Just like mine, only cleaner.

A couple months ago I saw this quote taped to the side of my mother in-law’s microwave:

“Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.” – Theodore Roosevelt

At first it pissed me off.  What fatalistic bullshit, I thought.  I’m not content to lay back and be happy with whatever life hands me!  I’m the one in charge here! I want to be more, do more, and have MORE!

That quote was like a rock in my shoe I couldn’t shake out.  And I was struggling at this point.  Feeling restless and itchy inside, dissatisfied with my life and not sure what needed to give.  All these old symptoms I hadn’t struggled with for ages coming up, and spending money like crazy, and unable to stop myself.

Every day I’d think of that quote.  I’d get more and more pissed.

And then I realized something.

When it comes to the things I want to be, to do, and to have — I really under-utilize my intelligence, creativity, and resources.

One of the things I’ve wanted to HAVE for years now is a camper van, or an RV of some sort.  But I’ve got to be realistic.  How many dollars do I have saved for this dream?? Zero.  I squirrel away my spare change and a few bucks here and there and start to feel hopeful (Yay! I’m actually working on my dream!!) and some unforeseen illness or what-have-you strikes and the money disappears.  I figure we’ll pay it back, but we never do.  If we can’t put $20 away here and there for a camper van, how are we ever going to afford monthly insurance, or gas, or up keep for that matter??

So, I’m going to do what that annoying-ass quote suggests and do what I can with what I have.  I’m turning my 2010 Toyota Corolla LE into a camper.  It still has to function as our daily driver, so I have to keep that in mind, but I’ve already removed the entire back seat and started working on figuring out some kind of convertible bed/storage system.

My promise to you is that I will do it with a minimum of skills and money (’cause that’s what I’ve got), and I’ll blog about it along the way.

 

 

Leave a Reply

